In 1958 the Wallsend News looked back over improvement to hospitals in Wallsend since the introduction, ten years before, of the National Health Service, focusing on Hadrian Hospital, Willington Quay Maternity Hospital and the GB Hunter Memorial Hospital on the Green.
The Hunter Memorial began as the small Wallsend General and Maternity Hospital in 1925 operated by a voluntary Board of Governors. In March that year the Hospital Committee were looking to appoint a matron and open a hospital but Sir George Hunter insisted that the Hall would not be handed over until completion of the west staircase, a major financial outlay. A horse parade in September 1925 helped to raise funds.
In 1939 the hospital benefited from the addition of the Andrew Laing ten-bed maternity wing. After the war the gas cleansing station, which had been constructed at the end of the maternity wing, was converted to a six-bed maternity ward. It is thought that the name was changed post war to the Sir GB Hunter Memorial Hospital when the Regional Hospital Board took over its management.
Major improvements in 1951 installed an x-ray facility and outpatients department with consulting room, waiting room and changing cubicles. A training facility for assistant nurses was added in 1953 and in 1956 a house in Elm Terrace was purchased and converted to use as a nurses training school.
In 1993 Walldene Court Nursing Home, an Anchor Housing and NT Health Authority project, accepted long-term patients affected by the Hunter Hospital closure.
If anyone has further information please ask for Discover North Tyneside at North Shields Customer First Centre on 0191 643 5270 or email firstname.lastname@example.org