LOOKING BACK: 100 years of Monkseaton Station

The platform of Monkseaton Station in 1950.

The platform of Monkseaton Station in 1950.

0
Have your say

This month marks the centenary of Monkseaton Station and this picture shows how the north platform looked in 1950.

The station officially opened on the morning of Sunday, July 25, 1915, with the Whitley Seaside Chronicle and Visitors Gazette reporting that there was: “no ceremony whatever celebrating the event.”

With the station came the construction of new roads and bridges, and this led to the closure of the existing level crossings. The paper surmises that such infrastructure is likely to improve the safety of the public in the hope that: “we shall hear no more of the many narrow and providential escapes, particularly of children, who would persist in crossing the line itself.”

The Station Master who oversaw the relocation was Mr Andrew Straughan, listed in the 1911 census as residing in Marine Avenue, Monkseaton, with his wife Isabella and their seven children.

The station received an important visitor on Friday, October 29, 1954, when the Queen arrived at Monkseaton as she began a series of royal visits across the region, including a lavish ceremony at Tynemouth Plaza.

The Evening Chronicle reported that the platform was decorated with a red carpet, ferns, palms and yellow chrysanthemums. It was also stated that a section of iron railings was especially cut away in order that the royal party could walk straight from the train to their waiting car.

If anyone has further information please ask for Discover at North Shields Customer First Centre on 0191 643 5270 or email discover@northtyneside.gov.uk