In April 1919, Fred Lund took over the running of Whitley Motor Company’s showroom in Marden Road, Whitley Bay. It was often referred to as St Paul’s Garage due to its proximity to Saint Paul’s Church, in Whitley Road, and its spire can be seen above the garage’s roof.
It specialised in Triumph motorcycles, as well as doing car sales and repairs, and had a taxi rank at the train station by October 1919.
Mr Lund also managed to secure the services of Arthur Keen, a vulcaniser from Briar Avenue who later opened a depot in Ocean View.
Mr Lund and Mr Keen had a stand at a motor show at Olympia, London, in November 1919.
In 1921, the firm was commissioned to provide a fleet of cars to the Newcastle Electric Supply Company. The garage was an official repair centre for the Automomobile Association, Royal Automobile Club and Auto Cycle Union, a motorbike sport body with 14 centres in England and Wales in 1923.
No 2 Grosvenor Drive was the home of the garage proprietor, and Mr Lund lived there until John Somerville, previously a tram manager, took over around 1928.
Fred Pearson Lund was named for his father, Yorkshire-born Pearson Lund, married to Annie Elizabeth Pickles. They married in Keighley in 1877 and were in Felling by the time of the 1911 census, with three of their five surviving children.
Fred, born in Byker in 1888, was a machine tool worker in his father’s factory. He married Isabella Lawson in South Shields in 1913, and they later moved from Gateshead to Whitley Bay.
If you have further information, ask for Discover at North Shields Customer First Centre on 0191 643 5270 or email email@example.com