Burradon once again represent league in cup

Have your say

BURRADON and New Fordley will once again representing the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League in the final of the David Crichton Cup.

They overcame Ashington Hoose in the divisional final 4-1. Michael Chilton led the scoring with a brace with Daniel Young and Graeme Cairns also on target. Chris Willis scored the consolation goal for Hoose.

The first round of the George Davison Cup saw High Street entertain new side Ashington Portland from the second division.

Portland shocked Street by taking the lead only to find themselves 2-1 down at the interval.

They increased their lead just after the break but Portland came back to reduce the margin only to see Street score two more to clinch the tie.

Goals for Street came from Anthony Harvey, Alan Fairbairn, Anthony Goldie, Jason Smart and Chris Laidlaw, with Steven Young, Robert Groves and Josh Haram on target for Portland.

In the Saints Shield first round there were wins for Wansbeck Flavour Bar over neighbours Ashington White House 2-1 and New Delaval and Newsham over New Hartley, winning 7-5.

Goals from the penalty spot and a direct free kick by Stephen Frater won it for Flavour Bar, with Andrew Walton scoring the White House consolation.

Newsham side had other ideas and struck three late goals beat New Hartley, who had Nick Jefferson (2), Clark Gunn (2) and Andrew Farrier on target. Goals for Newsham came from James Bell (2), Craig Danielson (2), Craig Frazer (2) and Stephen Forrester.

North Shields Royal Arms also moved into the next round with a 5-3 home win against Bedlington Community. Royal scorers were Les Thompson (2), Scott Pocklington, Alan Batiste and Chris Connor. Goals for Bedlington came from Antonie Harrison, Michael Douglas and Chris Green.

In division one, Blyth Post Office made it three wins out of three with a 2-0 home success over Bay Horse. Chris McCartney and Brian Gabbitas grabbed the vital goals.

West Allotment had a comfortable 8-2 win at home against Ashington Cree. Mitchell Renney led the way with a hat-trick with the other strikes added by Owen Wafer (2), Jed Findley (2) and Dan Hallowell.

Division two saw Red Lion Earsdon go goal crazy at home game against Newbiggin Coble.

Red Lion scored no less than 12 times without reply through Billy Barrass (4), Michael Hartley (2), David Rowley (2), Keith Kennedy, Scott Purcell, James Parker and Steven Burgon.

Marden Residents won 5-1 at home against Blyth Seahorse, whose goal was scored by Lee Brosnan. But a Shaun Nolan double and further strikes from Richard Thompson, Ira Tilley and Chris Darroll won it.