The 13th Whitley Bay Cub pack from St Paul’s Church in 1930 was run by sisters from Marden House in Marden Road South.
Trade directories show George H Mayhew at Marden House until 1934.
Edith Mayhew, his daughter born in Morpeth around 1904, married schoolmaster George Tully on August 1, 1934, at St George’s Church in Cullercoats. Her witnesses were George H and Winifred Mayhew, possibly siblings named after parents.
George Henry Mayhew, born in Norfolk, was a councillor for Whitley Bay and Monkseaton Urban District Council for 27 years, chairman of Whitley Bay Council in 1931 and represented St Mary’s Ward for most of his service until he retired aged 77.
Whitley Seaside Chronicle reported in April 1936 on the “opposition to a proposed rock making shop on the Lower Promenade below East Parade”, Coun Grant voted against it, but Coun Mayhew, himself “a toffee-maker”, supported the shop.
He is listed on the 1901 Census in Morpeth as a confectioner and baker. He died aged 82 in January 1955, two years after his diamond wedding anniversary, leaving his widow Winifred at 27 Briardene Crescent, Monkseaton, where they lived from around 1936, and had six daughters, three sons and eleven grandchildren.
W Taylor is apparently the cheeky young man at the far right of the back row, with his friend A Robinson below him, at the end of the third row. Perhaps Edith is one of the cub leaders shown. St Paul’s Church Hall was in King’s Drive.
If anyone has further information please ask for Discover at North Shields Customer First Centre on (0191) 643 5270 or email email@example.com