German-born Charles George Lang became a British Subject.
He married in Gateshead at the end of 1905 and his son Carl Leonard was born in 1907.
The 1911 Census lists the couple and their son with a niece and three domestic servants, one of whom was an assistant in his butcher’s shop, as was his wife.
The family moved to Wallsend and took over the pork butcher’s shop formerly owned by H Abel & Sons at 18 High Street West in 1931.
Shields Weekly News, of February 7, 1964, reported the death of Mr Lang aged 89.
He was buried at Heaton Cemetery, from his home in The Crescent, Wallsend – his wife Lena died in 1951. Son Leonard was to carry on the business.
From the corner at 2 High Street West was Burton’s the tailors, then Midland Bank at number eight, Bowman fruiterer at number ten and Johnson’s dyers at 12 then Maypole Dairy Co Ltd at 14 with Lang’s pork butchers at 18, according to the 1938 trade directory.
The number on the postcard dates it around late 1930s to early 1940s.
On the opposite side, beyond the policeman on duty, is the ornate corner building housing Martin’s Bank. Simpson’s hosiery and Jobling tobacconist are next door with Murphy’s drapers in London House next to the Station Hotel at the sign of the Blue Star of Newcastle Breweries.
Miller’s Hill Bakery and Ainsworth’s fish shop, in the former premises of Maynard’s confectioners, are beyond the laden lorry.
If anyone has further information please ask for Discover at North Shields Customer First Centre on (0191) 643 5270 or email firstname.lastname@example.org