The back of Holy Trinity Church can be seen clearly in 1955 across waste ground from Addison Street.
The foundation stone laying ceremony was performed by Lord Prudhoe on September 23, 1834, and a half day holiday was granted.
Consecration by the Bishop of Durham in October 1836 was followed by dinner at the Northumberland Arms. Trinity School was built next to the church in 1845. Christ Church clergy performed services until 1861 when the ecclesiastical district was formed and Joseph Shooter became the dedicated incumbent.
The first baptism on June 27, 1861, was of Robert, son of Robert and Margaret Chisholm. Edward Milburn, aged 28, and his bride Ann Elliott, aged 21, were the first to be married there on July 23, 1861.
By 1867 plans were prepared by Architect F R N Haswell to repair and renovate the church, which although just over 30-years-old ,was, according to the Shields Daily News, “in a state of great dilapidation” with broken windows and leaking roof.
A survey of the tower structure in August 1867 deemed it unsafe and a second survey by Hodgson Fowler recommended it be rebuilt.
A special subscription committee was formed to collect from local firms and benefactors donating from £10 to £25.
Holy Trinity became the Parish of Western Town in 1868 but Rev Shooter suffered a stroke in 1872 and died aged 50 in 1873.
The last service performed at Holy Trinity was on March 21, 1982, and it was demolished in 1984.
If anyone has further information please ask for Discover North Tyneside at North Shields Customer First Centre on (0191) 643 5270 or email email@example.com