`

Looking Back at Bewicke Infants School

The above photo shows the class of children of Bewicke Infants School circa 1958.
The above photo shows the class of children of Bewicke Infants School circa 1958.

The above photograph shows the class of children of Bewicke Infants School circa 1958.

Bewicke School was opened on August 5, 1878, and the first headmaster was John Robinson, who was followed by George Turnbull.

The school centenary would have been on August 5, 1978, but as this was during the summer holidays the celebrations were held on June 28 and 29, 1978.

They held concerts and exhibitions and the children had a day out at Lambton Lion Park. The Mayor, Coun John Dixon attended the events.

Due to the dilapidated condition of the school it was pulled down in 1985 before the council was aware that it had been made a listed building. Sheltered Housing and a doctor’s surgery now stand on the site.

If you have more information, email discover@northtyneside.gov.uk