`

Looking Back at the Black Bull Inn

From the early years of last century there had been a Black Bull Inn on this site in Dock Road, Howdon, a little to the west of the present Tyne Tunnel. Two families ran the pub in the second half of the 1800s.
From the early years of last century there had been a Black Bull Inn on this site in Dock Road, Howdon, a little to the west of the present Tyne Tunnel. Two families ran the pub in the second half of the 1800s.

From the early years of the last century there had been a Black Bull Inn in Dock Road, Howdon, a little to the west of the present Tyne Tunnel.

Two families ran the pub in the second half of the 1800s. In the 1850s William Linsley Thompson took up the inn-keeping and later, with his wife Margaret, was the licensee into the mid 1870s. Later Robert and Eleanor Woodman had the tenancy until the turn of the century.

The property was extensively rebuilt in 1899. On re-opening the licensee was Anderson McConnell, whose name can be seen over the door, and he continued to be associated with the pub into the 1920s.

The presence of tram tracks and Joseph Teasdale’s butcher’s shop date this photograph between 1902 and the First World War.

If you have further information email discover@northtyneside.gov.uk