The Piper, a new ‘luxury public house’, was named in honour of the Tyneside Scottish Regiment by Hammonds United Breweries Ltd.
And the Shields Weekly News reported the opening on Tuesday, March 10, 1964, in Farringdon Road, Marden Farm Estate, Cullercoats.
The piped ceremony was performed by G V Parker, managing director of Hammonds, accompanied by Tyneside Scottish Pipers led by Pipe Major F Matheson.
The main contractors for the pub’s construction were Derek Crouch Ltd of Birtley, County Durham. F H Somers Ltd of Bradford fitted the carpets, curtains and lino tiles, and all glassware was supplied by James Rush & Co of Newcastle.
A reproduction painting of the Battle of Tel-el-Kebir fought in 1882, based on an original held by the Scottish United Services Museum in Edinburgh, was incorporated into the décor. The mustard leather upholstered bar-front had pull-out seating and the premises also comprised lounge, buffet lounge and small off-licence.
To cater for an up-market executive clientele, there was to be no dominoes, darts or other house games. Mr and Mrs Tom Benson, from Dronfield, Sheffield, were appointed as the managers and lived in the flat above.
Mr Benson had served with the Yorkshire Light Infantry during the Second World War and had been stationed in Bedlington. The pub was closed for a time, advertising major refurbishment during 2011-12, and has recently re-opened with its new name The Sandpiper.
As Discover has no photographs of the Piper, regular customer Alan Beautyman kindly loaned this one, taken in December 1990. If anyone has further information please ask for Discover at North Shields Customer First Centre on (0191) 643 5270 or email email@example.com