The wooden paddle tug Selina was the second of its name to be built for Joseph Crossthwaite Sr between 1870 and 1877.
In 1911 it was sold to Ralph Robson’s Saint Anthony’s fleet. Selina worked for 53 years on the Tyne.
Joseph Crossthwaite Sr died in 1918, and in 1924 Joseph Crossthwaite (Tugs) Ltd was established, with his son on the Board of Directors.
Joseph Jr died in 1930 and in 1933 the directors accepted £8,500 from three companies for the business’ share capital. It continued to trade.
In 1944 a transfer of ownership resulted in the company offices moving, for the first time in their history, from North to South Shields. In April 1949 the company was wound-up.
If anyone has further information ask for Discover at North Shields CFC on 0191 643 5270 or email email@example.com