Smith’s Cocoa and Tea Rooms stood in Watts Road, Whitley Bay, between 1892 and the early 1920s.
The 1919 Ordnance Survey map shows the building clearly, together with the ornate drinking fountain atop five steps in the upper-right corner of this image.
The Tea Rooms no doubt offered a useful meeting place prior to dancing at the Empress Ballroom opposite, or as a welcome retreat following a breezy walk along the Links.
Proprietor Robert Smith was born in Scotland and the 1911 census shows him to be living in Duchess Street, Whitley Bay, with his wife Catherine and son Frederick. Robert was 92 when he died on January 15, 1926, and is buried at Whitley Bay cemetery.
If anyone has further information please contact Discover at North Shields on 0191 643 5270 or email email@example.com