Teen delighted at nomination for top award

A selfless teenager who has raised thousands of pounds for charity has been nominated for a national award.

Saturday, 6th August 2016, 7:45 am
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 4:06 pm
National Diversity Award nominees Harriotte Lane and Chris Slater.

Harriotte Lane, from West Allotment, has been shortlisted for the Positive Role Model award at the National Diversity Awards 2016.

The 15-year-old will join fellow nominees and celebrities at the awards night in Liverpool on September 16.

Over the last two years, Harriotte has raised almost £30,000 and volunteered hundreds of hours which has earned her the title of Miss Junior Teen Great Britain.

Harriotte said: “When I heard I had been nominated for such a big award I was shocked and then after reading the hundreds of nominations from people I have helped, worked with and inspired me and mum were in tears, it was quite overwhelming.

“Making it to the shortlist for me is winning, I’m going to be in the room with some of the most amazing and inspiring people that are making positive changes to our country and world, it’s going to be a night to remember.”

Paul Sesay, founder of The National Diversity Awards & The BEAM Awards, said: “The quality of nominations exceeds my expectations every year. This year was no exception.”

“Those shortlisted should be extremely proud, you truly are all winners and I wish each and every one of you the very best of luck.”

Olympic diver Tom Daley said: “The National Diversity Awards is a celebration of the fantastic work within Diversity, Equality & Inclusion by all positive role models and community organisations.

“Everybody who has been nominated and shortlisted is striving towards making society better for everyone, regardless of age, gender, race, faith, religion, sexual orientation, or disability.

“This is important because you are having a positive impact to people’s lives. I would like to wish all the shortlisted nominees the very best of luck at this year’s National Diversity Awards.”