Bay amongst world class stars in awards shortlist

THEY have played at the same ground as some world class stars, and now Whitley Bay FC are up against the same calibre of sportsmen in the MBNA Northern Sports Awards.

Manager Ian Chandler, who has led his team to three FA Carlsberg Vase victories at Wembley in as many years, is in the running for Manager of the Year alongside Manchester United’s Alex Ferguson and Roberto Mancini of Manchester City.

And to top that Whitley Bay FC have also been shortlisted in the Team of Year, in the same category as Man United, Manchester City, Blackpool FC, Yorkshire CCC (cricket) and Wigan Warriors.

It’s now up to the public to cast the deciding vote, after the shortlists were compiled by a People’s Panel made up of sports journalists and broadcast personalities. You can cast your vote by clicking on the link to Northern Sports Awards on the right hand side of the page.

Ian Chandler said: “To be associated with the likes of Sir Alex Ferguson is brilliant, I’m shocked to be nominated but it is a good feeling.

“I’m not as shocked that the team have been nominated after making history this year, it’s only right that they should be entered.

“It is a great honour to be short listed with such high calibre people.”

The six categories are in the MBNA Northern Sports Awards are: Sportsman of the Year; Sportswoman of the Year; Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability; Breakthrough/Newcomer of the Year; Team of the Year; Manager of the Year.

The MBNA Northern Sports Awards will take place at The Point at Lancashire County Cricket Club on Monday July 4, 2011.

The event is the first of its kind and will celebrate sporting excellence in the North which embraces all aspects of the region’s sporting world and recognises its outstanding contribution.


Sportsman of year

Lee Westwood (golf)

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Vincent Kompany (football - MCFC)

Chris Ashton (rugby union)

Kevin Nolan (football -NUFC)

Paul Hanagan (racing)

Jimmy Anderson (cricket)

Pat Richards (rugby league)

Sportswoman of the Year

Katy Mcclean (women’s rugby union)

Jessica Ennis (athletics)

Sarah Stevenson (Taekwondo)

Rebecca Adlington (Mansfield).

Jill Scott (football - Everton Ladies FC)

Katherine Brunt (cricket)

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

David Stone (cycling)

Ellie Simmonds (Paralympian swimmer)

Danielle Brown (archery)

Jo Willoughby (Paralympian skier)

David Stone (cycling)

Hazel Robson (athletics)

Hannah Cockroft (wheelchair athletics)

Breakthrough/Newcomer of the Year

Jonathan Bairstow (cricket)

John Flanagan (football)

Andy Carroll (football - Liverpool FC)

Adam Lyth (cricket - Yorkshire CCC)

Hernandez (football - MUFC)

Seamus Coleman (football - EFC)

Ben Stokes (cricket - Durham)

Ben Swift (cycling)

Team of the Year

Man United

Man City

Blackpool FC

Yorkshire CCC (cricket)

Wigan Warriors

Whitley Bay FC

Manager of the Year

Sir Alex Ferguson (MUFC)

Roberto Mancini (Manchester City FC)

Kenny Dalglish (Liverpool FC)

Dave Brailsford (UK Cycling Team)

Ian Chandler (Whitley Bay FC)

Michael Maguire (Wigan Warriors)

Toni Minichiello (Jessica Ennis’ coach)

Ian Holloway (Blackpool FC)