Bay shortlisted for Team of the Year

A PUBLIC vote has secured Whitley Bay FC a place in the short list for Team of the Year.

The finalists for the MBNA Northern Sports Awards have been revealed and the winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Monday 4th July.

Whitley Bay FC, who were historic in winning the FA Carlsberg Vase fir the third time in a row last season are up against Manchester City FC and Wigan Warriors in the short list.

The MBNA Northern Sports Awards takes place at The Point @ Lancashire County Cricket Club, and the event is the first of its kind, celebrating sporting excellence in the North which embraces all aspects of the region’s sporting world and recognises its outstanding contribution.

There are 19 award categories in total, six of which were shortlisted by a ‘People’s Panel’ made up of a group of sports journalists and broadcast personalities.

The shortlists were then put up for public vote.

The six categories chosen by the People’s Panel were: Sportsman of the Year; Sportswoman of the Year; Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability; Breakthrough/Newcomer of the Year; Team of the Year; Manager of the Year.

The voting has now closed and the finalists are:

Sports Manager/ Coach of the Year

Ian Holloway

Michael Maguire

Roberto Mancini

Team of the Year

Manchester City FC

Whitley Bay FC

Wigan Warrior


Ben Stokes

Ben Swift

Seamus Coleman

Sportsperson with a Disability

David Stone

Hannah Cockcroft

Jo Willoughby

Sportswoman of the Year

Jessica Ennis

Jill Scott

Rebecca Adlington

Sportsman of the Year

Jimmy Anderson

Mark Cavendish

Lee Westwood.