Beresford goal puts Blyth Town 16 points clear

Daniel Beresford was the Blyth Town hero as he headed in the only goal at title rivals Carlisle City to stretch their lead at the top of the Northern Alliance Newcastle Building Society premier division to 16 points.

Paul Dunn (2) and Alex Benjamin netted in Killingworth Station’s win at Shankhouse, who had Chris Rue and Kevin Carr on target.

Rutherford also won 3-2, at Ashington Colliers, with returning striker Chris Garwood, debutant Rhys Harbottle and regular hit-man Zak Atkinson chalking up. Craig Webb struck twice for the Colliers.

Dean Imray, Matty Hayton, Sam Grieveson and John Robson scored for Walker Central at Seaton Delaval with the Red Devils’ Cameron Patrick and a Michael Scott penalty replying.

North Shields Athletic ran out winners over Hebburn Reyrolle by the same scorline – Craig Boyle, Scott Jasper, Stephen Ardley and Ryan Bailey firing in. Dan Solomon and Liam Connolly notched for the visitors.

Whitley Bay A and Northbank advanced in the Bay Plastics George Dobbins League Cup with wins over Red House Farm and Birtley Saint Joseph’s respectively.

The Seahorses scorers were a Dylan Blake penalty, Andy Robertson, Tom Potter and Nick Jarvis Smith, with Paul Newton Eddy and Martin Soulsby the Red House hot-shots.

Adam Clarke, Tom Lucock (2), Robbie Vallance and Ashley Pattinson chalked up for Northbank. Luke Steele hit a late consolation for first division Birtley.

In Nike division one, Newcastle Chemfica must have thought they had battled to a hard earned point against leaders Percy Main when Garrick Murphey Collins made it 4-4 in the 88th minute – but Adam Green popped up with a last gasp winner for the Villagers.

Dan Sneap, Chris Laidlaw, Graham Allen and Sam Thompson netted for the Main, who led 3-0. But Chemfica fought back with Steve McLaughlin (2), Dan Sherlicker and Garrick Murphey-Collins slamming in.

Danny McDonald netted a hat-trick for Cramlington Town against Hexham. Victor Jefferson was also on the scoresheet with Matteo Faiola and Gav Cox replying.

Wallsend Boys Club’s Jason Walsh and Nicky Whitelaw scored in their win at Wooler.

Cullercoats shared a point with Blyth Isabella. Dean McCarthy chalked up for the hosts with Daniel Hislop the ‘Bella scorer.

New Fordley’s Bluefin Sports Bill Gardner Trophy clash with Gosforth Bohemians was abandoned due to a serious injury to their goalkeeper, with the Bohs’ 3-1 result standing as the hosts conceded the tie.

In Bay Plastics division two, David Short’s double helped put Longbenton in second spot. Rob Edwardson and Chris Sword grabbed the others in the victory over Wideopen.

Liam Barnett (2), Curtis Aitken, James Fenwick and Ryan Gibson lashed home for Gateshead Leam Rangers at Willington Quay Saints.

Adam Bravey, Ross McAuley and Dan Nolan scored in Whitburn’s success against West Allotment Celtic A while Newcastle Benfield Reserves drew 2-2 with Swalwell.

Shilbottle’s Matty Graham hit five in their 9-0 Northumberland FA Minor Cup success at High Howdon.

Kev Halliday, John Bone, Ross Muter, Brent Aisbitt and Mick Angus shared the goals as AFC Newbiggin advanced at Seaton Burn.

Oliver Walker bagged a brace in Newcastle University’s 4-3 success over Ponteland United.

Michael Rankin, Chrissy Robinson, Robert Jefferson and Imran Collins were Grainger Park’s scorers as they beat Lindisfarne Custom Planet.

But there were upsets for Alnwick Town Reserves, Cramlington United and Bedlington Terriers Reserves, who were all beaten by lower league opposition.