Burradon and New Fordley beat Ashington Bubbles to retain cup

Burradon and New Fordley with the Alan Davison Cup after their 6-2 win over Ashington Bubbles in the final. Picture by Ian Appleby
Burradon and New Fordley with the Alan Davison Cup after their 6-2 win over Ashington Bubbles in the final. Picture by Ian Appleby

Burradon and New Fordley retained the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League Alan Davison Cup with a 6-2 win over Ashington Bubbles United.

The game at Bedlington Terriers’ ground was delayed for 15 minutes due to fog, but once under way, the holders were soon in control.

Andrew Keenen was denied by a great save by Bubbles keeper Murdie at his near post, but he was beaten two minutes later by a free kick from the right.

The Ashington defence failed to clear their lines and allowed Steve Howes to score with a simple tap-in from two yards out.

With Fordley piling on the pressure with successive corners, it was from one of these set pieces they increased their lead.

Once again the Bubbles defence were slow to react to a half clearance and Scott Brotherick ghosted in at the far post for another simple goal.

Bubbles had a goal ruled out for offside on the half hour before Fordley made it 3-0 when keeper Murdie misjudged the flight of a cross and Ian Lee headed into an empty net.

Kris Allington reduced the arrears minutes before the break when he outpaced the defence to score.

But Fordley hit back and increased their lead right on half-time as from another free kick David Atkinson headed home.

Fordley scored their fifth five minutes into the second half when Lee scored with a low shot.

It came as no surprise when Fordley went further ahead. A rash challenge from a Bubbles defender gave away a penalty which Atkiknson just beat Murdie diving to his left.

Bubbles scored a second with ten minutes remaining when Allington beat the Fordley keeper from a free kick.

They almost added a third but were denied by the woodwork.

League chairman George Allen introduced cup sponsor Alan Davison who formed the league 54 years ago to present the cup and medals.

The man of the match award went to Burradon and New Fordley’s Ian Lee, who selected by Chris Bartlett.

In the premier division, Wansbeck Pots and Slots won 4-1 at home to North Shields Royal Arms. Goals for the home side were shared between Michael Hogg, Chris Hogg, Martin Humble and Steven Patterson, with Alan Baptist on target for Royal

In division one, saw Marden Residents scored three late goals to overhaul Stakeford Cherry Tree in a nine-goal thriller as the lead changed hands four times during the game.

Stakeford thought they had the game sown up with ten minutes left, however, Marden hit them with three goals in as many minutes to take the points.

On target for Residents were Grant Richardson, Ira Tilley, Leeroy Odd, Mark Hunter and Tony Fawcett with a penalty to win the game. David Kewn (2), Jake Gray and Andrew Lyle scored for Cherry Tree.

AE Phoenix and Blyth Sports and Social Club shared the points in a six-goal thriller. Kevin Chapman led the scoring for Phoenix with a double with Darren Percy also on target. Glen Dolmahoy scored twice for Sports Club with Craig Davison netting the third.

Blyth Isabella Colliery went down at home 5-0 against Blyth Waterloo with goals from Gavin Adamson (3), Steven Molloy and Kieron Fitzpatrick.

Blyth Last Orders got back to winning ways with a 4-1 home win against Ashington Excelsior, with goals from Mathew Crook (2), Chris McCartney and Daryl Pendleton. Adam Mavin notched the Excelsior consolation.

United Services fielding a much weaker side found Newsham Victory to hot to handle and they went down 8-2 at home. David Long and James Moore scored for Services, but David Lillico (3), Scott Bushby (2), Barry Newton, Steven Waterworth and Daniel James goals won it.

Blyth South Beach won 7-0 at home against FC Beacon with Curtis Miller (2), Joe Betts (2), Redmond Cockburn, James Southern and Steven Craig finding the target.

The league is looking for new teams for the 2014-15 season. Any team interested should contact general league secretary Frank Scantlebury on 07939 102986 or email frankscantlebury@yahoo.co.uk