Burradon’s season brings trophy haul

THE Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League held its presentation night at the New Delaval and Newsham Social Club.

League chairman George Allen welcomed all attendees, including Jim and Suzette Scott from league sponsors Standard Security, thanking them for their support last season and for next season.

Flowers were also presented to Suzette Scott, Lillian Allen and Susan Scantlebury.

The trophies were handed out by Jim Scott, with the divisional secretaries being – Lee Stephenson, Cowpen Percy Arms (division two); Martyn Hepple, Blyth Seahorse, and Mark Jobson, Blyth Masons Arms (division one) and Phil Arnott, Burradon and New Fordley (premier division).

Leading scorers were – Kris Allington, 42 for Ashington Fox Cover (division two); Martyn Evans, 28 for North Shields Gunner (division one); and Ian Lee, ten for Burradon and New Fordley (premier division).

Player of the Year awards, for most man of the match awards, were – Kris Allington (Ashington Fox Cover), Liam Issac (Bedlington Community) and Darren Phillip (The Newsham) shared in division two; Patrick Allen, New Delaval and Newsham SC in division one; and Daniel Hislop, The Eagle Blyth, the premier division.

Ashington Fox Cover and Blagdon Arms Cramlington shared the cash prize for the Bill Young Fair Play Award, although Fox Cover received the trophy as they had more man of the match awards.

The Referee of the Year award went to Stephen Young, from North Shields.

The Harry Kennedy award – for a club or individual the league think has excelled – went to The Newsham.

The President’s Trophy, for a person who works behind the scenes, went to Ian Burt.

Trophies for the cup winners went to Newbiggin FC (JD Marnock Cup); Burradon and New Fordley (Alan Davision Cup, the SA Randolph Cup and the George Davison Cup); Ashington Grand (Eric Anderson Cup); and The Albert North Shields (Saints Shield).

In the leagues, Ashington Grand won division two ahead of Cowpen Percy Arms; The Albert North Shields took division one from Monkseaton Hunting Lodge; and Burradon and New Fordley claimed the premier division ahead of Ashington Mortimer.

And in a trophy laden season, Burradon and New Fordley won the David Crichton Cup, which is played out between league teams and those from Cramlington Sunday League.

The final award was presented to John Balmer in recognition of his work for the league over the past 12 years, the last six as records officer before he stepped down from the league committee this summer.

At the league’s AGM, new clubs were welcomed while Ashington RAOB and Monkseaton Hunting Lodge were wished good luck as they head for new pastures.

All members were re-elected, apart from Mr Balmer, who was replaced by Kenny Newton, with John Scantlebury appointed to the committee.