More awards for North Shields as Fenton is named ‘Manager of the Season’

In a season of immense glory for North Shields Football Club the accolades just keep mounting up.

Before the FA Vase winners take some time off to reflect, they assembled in large numbers at the Ramside Hall Hotel where the Northern League held their annual dinner.

And there was further success for the Robins as manager Graham Fenton was named Manager of the Season.

No one could possibly have deserved it more after all the hard work put in alongside assistants Andy Bowman and Brian Smith both on and off the pitch throughout an exhausting but ultimately satisfying campaign.

Having led the Robins to the Second Division Championship in 2014 the Robins raised eyebrows as they took the First Division by storm.

Fenton’s men finished in fourth place, five points off winning, while navigated through 11 thrilling cup ties to that Wembley wonderland.

The League’s ‘top’ award – the Arthur Clark Cup – was received by an emotional North Shields chairman.

Alan Matthews, bursting with pride, and his ‘backroom brigade’ were overcome as Alan was rewarded for his outstanding contribution over many long years.

Last season’s Northern League Player of the Year Gareth Bainbridge this time picked up the Radio Newcastle Player of the Year.

Gareth notched 55 goals in the last campaign, a ‘mere’ 48 this time round including that crucial late leveller at the Home of Football.

The Robins also ended second in the Northern League Fair Play First Division Table and were further rewarded at the Dinner with an additional Administration award.

At the club’s own presentations recently – which saw Bainbridge win the Supporters Player of the Year plus Don Winskill Golden Boot; John Parker win the George Thompson Player of the Year and skipper Kevin Hughes the Players’ Player – there were further accolades.

Five players also passed the 100 appearance mark – Wembley matchwinner Adam Forster, John Grey, Kevin Hughes, Ben Richardson and Kieran Wrightson – and all received salvers whilst the evening ended on a poignant note with 1969 captain Ron Tatum alongside members of that team and 2015 skipper Kevin Hughes holding the trophy amid terrific applause.