Waugh extra time goal puts Burradon into cup final

Burradon and New Fordley beat visitors North Shields Royal Arms in the semi-final of the Standard Security Blyth and Wansbeck Sunday League SA Randolph Cup.

Goals from David Atkinson for the home side and Alan Baptist for Royal Arms left the scores level at extra time, but a strike from Lee Waugh secured the win for Burradon in extra time and they will now meet High Street Blyth in the final.

In the premier division, Ashington Bubbles won 6-2 at home to New Delaval and Newsham with goals from Kris Allington (2)’ Daniel Hislop (2) and Brent Aisbitt (2). Brent Aisbitts goals were two screamers from outside the box. James Bell scored both for Newsham.

Cramlington Phoenix went down 3-0 at home against Ashington Grand, despite keeper Tony Deakin saving two penalties. David Jones, Michael Todd and Tony Messenger were the men on target.

High Street had to settle for a point after being 2-0 up against ten man Forest Hall. Anthony Harvey scored both goals for Street, but goals from Ian Todd and Paul Errington earned Hall a point.

Red Lion went down at home 3-1 to Wansbeck Pots and Slots. Keith Kennedy scored Lion, but goals from Michael Angus, Martin Humble and Stephen Frater won it.

In division one, leaders South Beach won 7-1 at AE Phoenix. David Sturgeon scored for the home side, but strikes from Stuart Dickinson (2), and Steven Mathewson (2), Michael Haley, Joe Betts and Rhys Dobie won the contest.

Ashington White House and Blyth Sports and Social Club shared the points in a 1-1 draw. John Gall scored for White House with Vine Palmer replying for Sports Club.

Blyth United Services went down 6-1 at home 6-1 to Blyth Isabella Colliery. Daniel Miller scored for Services while on the score sheet for the Isabella were Jordan Kennedy (2), Paul Bertram (2), Duane Dunn and James Arkless.

Cramlington Green went down 2-1 at home to Blyth Last Orders, who had Mathew Wade and Mathew Crooks on target.

Stakeford Cherry Tree had an excellent 2-1 win at home against FC Beacon thanks to strikes from Liam Eadington and Robert Wilkinson. Michael Lamb replied for Beacon.

Newsham Victory and Marden Residents scored eight goals between them with Residents coming out on top 5-3. On target for Victory were David Lillico (2) and Jamie Harrison. A Chris Darroll hat-trick and Lee Roy Odd double won it.

The league is looking for new teams for the 2014-15 season. Any teams interested should contact general league secretary Frank Scantlebury on 07939 102986 or email frankscantlebury@yahoo.co.uk