Beever takes over as captain of Monkseaton first team

Monkseaton Cricket Club will be under new leadership this season with Chris Beever being voted in as first team captain.

He will be assisted by Mike Driver while Eric Thompson takes up the reins again as second team skipper with Chris Walker his number two.

After years of running the third team, Nigel Green has stepped down. A spokesperson for the club said they owe him an “immense debt of gratitude because without him the third team would have struggled to exist and we hope he can now enjoy his cricket unhindered”.

A J Nayar now assumes the role as third team captain.

Indoor nets for the seniors begin on Tuesday, February 2, at Kings School from 6.30pm until 8pm, where new members are welcome.

Anyone wishing to join should contact Tony Errington on 07932 691604 or Matty Kleknhans on 07447 060779.

Monkseaton Cricket Club is now running a thriving junior section thanks to the efforts of Kevin Elliot and Andy Simms.

Started last season with just two players, the junior section has grown to more than 20 members, with this year an under-11s and possibly under-13 team.

The junior nets will start at the Parks on Wednesday, February 3, from 6pm until 7.30pm, where they will receive coaching.

Any new players wishing to participate should contact Kevin Elliot on 075989 631157.