Hallam to continue as chairman of Tynemouth CC

Tynemouth Cricket Club chairman Graeme Hallam.
Tynemouth Cricket Club chairman Graeme Hallam.

Tynemouth Cricket Club’s 169th AGM last week saw the confirmation that Graeme Hallam will continue as chairman after an uplifting season for the Premier League side in 2015.

The rest of the committee will also continue and Hallam expressed his gratitude for all the voluntary work the club relies on.

Angus Robertson, however, has decided not to continue as membership secretary, nor with the induction group, and he was warmly thanked for many years of dedicated service to the club.

Work is well under way to re-establish the club as a limited company, which will be run with more use being made of online facilities such as membership and team selection.

The first team, who fielded 27 players in all competitions, won the Tyneside Charity Bowl and reached the final of the NEPL Banks Salver but lost to Eppleton.

They finished a creditable seventh in the NEPL, only three points behind the fifth place side.

Tahir Khan took 51 league wickets at only 18.1 runs per wicket, and the club are delighted he will return next season.

However, Andrew Smith took the first team bowling award with Matthew Brown awarded both the batsman and fielder of the season.

Ben Debnam will continue as captain next season.

The second team regularly lost players to the first team and ended up sixth in their division but deserved to finish higher than this with some superb performances.

They enjoyed a good cup run, losing in an exciting NEPL Banks Bowl final to Chester-le-Street.

Veteran Tony Lion was best bowler with Andrew Lineham taking the batting award and Carl Salvidge the top fielder.

Chris Fairley was elected as skipper for next season.

The Sunday third team fielded several young players experiencing senior cricket for the first time and finished a creditable eighth in the NEPL third division.

Richard Warwick was best bowler, Ricky Handa the batsman of the season and Jon Malton top fielder.

Hallam announced that next season will see the launch of an Academy at Tynemouth CC, overseen by coach Steve Williams.

The Academy will involve players aged 12 to 18 who will train as a squad, in addition to their own age group training, and the older boys will form the basis of the Sunday third team next season.

The club intend that this initiative will make it easier for the youngsters to mature towards selection for the senior sides.

The Saturday third team were hit hard by call ups from the NEPL teams and suffered shortages of experienced players for their Northumberland League fixtures, although several youngsters added valuable support to the squad, often at short notice.

This shortfall resulted in relegation to division two, where many fixtures next season will be against second teams rather than first teams.

Don Catley was bowler of the year, Simon Ward top batsman and Neil Bennet best fielder.

The intention under Lee Reed as new skipper next season is to add new blood and aim for a quick return to division one.

Special mention was made by Hallam of the captains’ nominated players of the year, respectively Ryan Macciocchi, Chris Fairley, Harvey Malton and Tom Stoetzel.

The junior teams fielded U7s, U9s, U11s and U15s.

Friday evenings when all these groups played saw some 80 participants and a vast number of watching parents enjoying light refreshments from the bar.

The juniors were coached by a committed and enthusiastic team of volunteers from all disciplines within the club.

Junior presentation evening winners across the U7 through U15 teams were as follows. Bowling: O Falla, J Benns, S Baghat, P Hallam, W Perry, Henry Malton; Batting: D Ward, B Bloomfield, D Watt, J Snowdon, T Hamilton, O Gourlay; Fielding: C Ward (U9), J Stanley, A Tugby, J Bairstow, T Stoetzel; Most Improved: C Whiting (U9), B Oxenbourgh, J Chater, I Gilpin, Harvey Malton.

Following a successful hosting of the Tynemouth Beer Festival and a busy night for the fireworks display, the club are in a more secure position financially.

However, major projects at the Preston Avenue ground, including consolidation of the second square with full facilities, gives rise to an open invitation for further sponsorships for the juniors, seniors and ladies teams.

Also the pavilion is available for hire throughout the year. Contact is Steve Mordue on 07886 028020.