Percy Park maintain their grip on Super 10s

WHITLEY Bay Rockcliff RFC closed their season with their Super 10s Tournament.

A total of 16 teams competed for the Cup and Plate, with touring sides from Bloxwich Nottingham, Hertford, Barton on Humber, Rugby, Orrell, Beaufort and Queensferry joined by local sides Percy Park, North Shields, Cullercoats, Gosforth and Rockcliff.

A first round saw the winners progress into the Cup and the losers the Plate.

Percy Park and Orrell made it through to the Cup final, whilst Rockcliff A and Rugby St Andrews faced off in the Plate final.

Park had beaten Rugby St Andrews 12-0, North Shields 24-5, and Rockcliff B 24-0.

Rockcliff A made it through after losing 26-24 to Orrell in the first round then beating Hertford 39-7, and Nottingham Casuals 33-7.

In the Cup final, Park held on to the trophy they won last year after coming back from 10-0 at half-time to beat Orrel 36-10.

Orrell started with the strong wind in their favour and used this to their advantage to score two unconverted tries.

In the second half Park began to press Orrell back, eventually breaking through to score in the corner through Jack Davison.

Davison was then on hand to score his second try, levelling the scores, and shortly afterwards he went over for his hat-trick score.

Former Rockcliff Academy star Jonny Gould then broke through from 25 metres out to extend the lead to 20-10, and Simon Greetham added a conversion.

As Orrell tired, Park pressed and Howard Stock scored under the posts. Greetham then scored and converted the final try of the game.

In the Plate final, Rockcliff dominated throughout, building on a 17-0 half-time lead to win 31-0.

They opened brightly when Liam Bowman capitalised on a gap in the St Andrews defence to batter through, converted by Andrew Webster.

Webster extended Rockcliff’s lead when he broke from inside his own half to touch town wide on the left.

Sam Smate then beat the defence to score his side’s third try.

Despite playing into the wind in the second half, Rockcliff continued to press St Andrews back and Karl Briggs followed up a break by Liam Bowman to wriggle over, with Webster again adding the conversion.

In a final break, Ricky Hasnip broke way and set up Dan Timney for Rockcliff’s final try, converted by Hasnip.

Rockcliff Players Dinner

ROCKCLIFF held their annual players dinner last week, with both the Player of the Year Award and the Players’ Player of the Year award going to Josh Donnelly.

Scrum half Dan Simpson was the most improved player of the year. Jack Lambert was the Vikings’ player of the year, with Dan Johnstone winning the players’ player of the year award.

Chris Elliott won the Rangers’ player of the year award, and the Peter Watson Clubman of the Year Trophy was awarded to club treasurer Bill Reynolds.