Poly hands out annual awards

Stephanie Dann with Bill McGuirk.
Stephanie Dann with Bill McGuirk.

North Shields Polytechnic athletic club held its prize and presentation event at Percy Park Rugby Club.

The under 17 section was particularly well represented with Josh Blevins (Paula Adamson Memorial Shield and Diane Williams Shield), Stella Perrett (Trevor Stoppford Memorial trophy) and Isobel Robinson (Helen Oughton Memorial Shield) receiving their awards from Bill McGuirk.

Other notable young athletes aged under 25 who received prizes were Gina Rutherford and William Robson.

At the other end of the age scale masters category athletes Kath Stewart and Guy Bracken received the John Michael Earnshaw trophy for their track performances.

Road running awards were given to Graeme Cook, Stephanie Dann, Jonathon Jamison, Scott Ellis, Rachel Inman, Michelle Thompson, John Baty, Iain Twaddle and Louise Hayes.

Families were featured with the Penns (Gregg and daughter Jackie) receiving prizes. Husband and wife team Alan and Louise Turnbull won the multi sport athlete of the year award for their performance in the Ironman as well as other events.

Other athletes who received special awards were James Wordsworth, Paul West and Josh Collinson. Vaughan Hemy received the Steady Eddie Shield for contributing to the success of the club, in particular for his work in organising teams to represent North Shields Poly at various events.

National performances were also celebrated as particular mention was made of three athletes who competed as part of the England team in the British and Irish Masters Cross Country in November.

Both Stephanie Dann and Guy Bracken picked up gold medals and Claire McManus narrowly missed out, coming a creditable eighth in the event.

For more information on North Shields Polytechnic visit www.nspoly.co.uk