Rockcliff and Queensferry warm up for Super 10s with draw

Rockcliff and Queensferry prepared for the Super 10s with a closely fought encounter at Queensferry.

The tourists arrived in a refreshed state, and were under pressure from Ferry in the early exchanges, but a great break from skipper Andrew Webster took the ball into the home sides half and Johnny Earnshaw cut a great line to crash through and score, unconverted for 5-0.

Queensferry rallied and two Craig Wardrop penalties saw them edge in front at 6-5. Lee Walsh then extended the lead when he scored Queensferry’s first try of the game, converted by Wardrop for 13-5.

On the stroke of half time, flying Yorkshireman Craig Tomlinson then made a great break, combining with Webster to send the skipper in to score for 10-13 at the break.

Early in the second half Simon Cormack broke through from open play to storm over the line for 15-13, and with their tails up the red and golds pressed home their advantage with two further tries. Cormack notched his second and then Karl Briggs sniped over, converted for 27-13 and Rockcliff were looking safe with ten minutes to go. Queensferry launched a late rally, and with two converted tries battled back to level the scores.

Whitley Bay Rockcliff RFC will be rounding off their 125th season with their annual ten a side competition, the Super 10’s. Touring and local sides will compete for the cup and plate trophies, and the teams taking part are: Rockcliff A; Rockcliff B; Cullercoats; West End Academicals; Prudhoe and Stocksfield; DTUS (University Services); Fleetwood; Harrogate Pythons; Queensferry; Duns; Minehead Barbarians; Novocastrians.

The format of this year’s competition will be four leagues of three teams, each play each other – so each team has a minimum of three games. The league sessions will mean each league have six games in total, giving 24 games. The league winners then go into the cup semi-finals and then the final for the two semi-final winners.

The league runners go into the plate semi-finals and final for the two semi-final the winners.

The games are scheduled to start at noon, and should be finished around 5pm.