All over The Overtones

THERE are few CDs that arrive at my desk that fill me with quite as much excitement as The Overtones’ Good Ol’ Fashioned Love did.

This is a truly remarkable album that has been constantly playing in my car since it arrived – and is one I firmly believe everyone should own.

The Overtones are a five-part vocal harmony grop that serves to remind us of the one thing in music nobody can tire of – the power of the voice.

Collectively the five piece – Mark Franks, Mike Crawshaw, Darren Everest and Timmy Matley – are as much a throwback to the timeless appeal of doo-wop ad Motown as they are to modern day R&B and pop.

Their voices are incredible, and the album is the perfect blend of new and old sounds with real foot-tapping moments and songs that will get stuck in your head for days.

All the tracks are old fashioned songs that you know and love but with a doo-wop twist that I can’t help but sing along to.

Album highlights are Sh-boom, Come Back My Love, Don’t Make Me Over, and The Longest Time, but for me the best song on the album is an original song – Gambling Man, which is just brilliant.

Good Ol’ Fashioned Love is a fantastic album that I feel I will never tire of listening to.

I already can’t wait for a second album of doo-wops and sh-booms, and I hope for more original songs like Gambling Man.

Track Listing:

1. Sh-boom

2. Gambling Man

3. Come Back My Love

4. Carolyn

5. The Longest Time

6. Good Ol’ Fashioned Love

7. Blue Moon

8. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You

9. In The Still Of The Night

10. Don’t Make Me Over

11. Goodnight Sweetheart, Goodnight

12. Why Do Fools Fall In Love